The happiest pe…

The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything but they make the most of everything.

On the sappy side? Perhaps…but I find it to be true the longer I live, and I feel the same way about the science fiction I read (and write). I want to read about a character who has some aspiration(s) beyond themselves, and who stands for something.

That doesn’t mean everything has to be fluffy bunnies and rainbows. I love dystopian and bleak science fiction when done right. But I have to identify with the character, or like/care about them on some level. That’s what I hope for as a reader, and that’s what I try to create as a writer. Toward that end, this blog will be a context for some lively debate about all things science fiction and fantasy, book reviews, and much, much more.

Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.